Chapter 1- Don’t miss me when I’m gone.

The loud rings of the phone echoed through the house, ripping Daniyah from her sleep. This was the fifth time this morning that the phone had rung, and it was only nine o’clock. Each time, her boyfriend had picked it up almost immediately and she’d drifted back to sleep. She’d assumed that Derek was having a particularly busy morning, he’d been complaining about the mounting stress of his job due to the changes at his firm since his new promotion.

She had been, and still was, concerned about the stress, but all that she needed was some sleep. Days off came rarely to her as a result of her newly opened business and she desperately needed a couple of hours to recharge after a quite hectic week. Sitting up in the warm bed, she gently rubbed at her eyes, trying to clear the sleep from them. Even though Derek had tried to keep the phone calls from waking her up, it had been to no avail.

She cringed as soon as her bare feet hit the cold floor. Summer had been gone for a little while now, and though it wasn’t quite snowing yet, it was definitely getting chilly. She’d always told Derek to turn up the heat before bed every night, but he had the memory of a goldfish when it came to certain things apparently. She quickly slipped into her warm house shoes; put up her long, messy hair into a ponytail, and padded her way down to the kitchen for her daily cup of coffee. She could hear the sound of Derek mumbling into the phone as she got closer to the kitchen and briefly wondered what was so important that it had to be discussed in such a low voice.

Entering the kitchen, she noticed that Derek had a quite sombre look on his face. He was definitely not Mr. Sunshine in the mornings, but he was far from depressing. He stood behind the kitchen counter, and looked like he was miles away. Come to think of it, the phone calls from this morning had been answered in rather hushed tones. He’d sounded somewhat angry and surprised, but she’d just chucked it up to another client acting up. “Well someone woke up on the wrong side of the bed this morning,” she said, as she walked by him to pour herself a cup of coffee. She was trying to lighten the situation with some humour, but failing miserably as always. Normally, he would’ve laughed and told her to stop getting her humour from bubblegum wrappers, but this time all she got back was silence.

“Okay, seriously, what is up with you this morning?” she asked, with a more serious tone in her voice.

“I think you might want to take a seat,” he finally replied, turning to face her with that damn sad look still on his face. She took a large sip of the lukewarm coffee in her hand and shrugged. She knew he wasn’t going to spill whatever was bothering him until she took that seat, one of his more stubborn traits that never ceased to annoy her.

“So who died?” she asked jokingly. Her heart started to race as soon as she saw the shocked expression appear on his face. She’d just been joking, but apparently someone really was dead. “Oh my goodness, is it Jolene?” she asked, the panic in her voice becoming very obvious. Her sister was always getting into one bad situation or the other and she was truly petrified that she had gone and gotten herself into a situation that no one could bail her out of.

“No, no it’s not her, she’s fine,” he quickly retorted, trying to calm her down. There was a small moment of silence as Daniyah mentally ran through everyone she knew who he could be talking about. Still, she came up with nothing. She didn’t even want to think about who it might be, and desperately hoped that it wasn’t anyone she was really close to.

“It’s- it’s your father,” he finally stuttered out, looking down at the floor as he said those painful words she’d hoped to never hear in her life. It was as if the world had stopped for a couple of seconds after he uttered those four words. Everything became quiet as if they knew that her world had just come crashing down. Again.

She watched as her coffee mug slipped out of her grip and fell to the floor, breaking into tiny pieces. She was surprised to hear a large gasp and a deathly sounding wail coming from somewhere. She watched as Derek rushed to pick her up, and hold her as if something was wrong. Suddenly, the normal morning noises returned, but this time they were tinged with the sounds of someone weeping. She wanted to scream at whoever was making those noises; couldn’t they tell that she’d just lost one of the most important people to her? She just wanted a bit of silence to make sense of it all. Then, she realized that she was the one wailing like a mad woman, she was the one standing in a pool of lukewarm coffee with broken pieces of glass everywhere. She was the one being held by her boyfriend as her body shook with the force of her sobs. Her father was dead and she prayed, and pleaded that this was all just a sick joke.

“You have to be kidding me!” she yelled, “He can’t be gone!” Derek continued to hold her, rubbing her back as her crying only began to get louder. “Shh, it’s okay baby,” he replied, “It’s going to be alright”

“But he promised,” she said, her eyes tearing up again, “He said he’d never leave me.”

29 Comments

Filed under Street Lights

29 responses to “Chapter 1- Don’t miss me when I’m gone.

  1. That last shot is just gut wrenching! 😦 I loved this when you posted it on LJ I’m glad that you reposted it over here!:) I hope you continue with this. I’m so intrigued. What did her father die of? Why did he promise her something that he couldn’t really keep since we all die?

  2. Thank you for reading! I’m glad you liked it.
    As for her father, it might just all unfold in the next chapter. His death and the how/why was definitely unexpected though, I’ll tell you that. Well, dads always promise their baby girls things that might not necessarily be possible.

  3. Oh wow.

    Found you by your comment on the latest Sessions.

    So. You pass my test.

    http://valleysunsims.proboards.com/index.cgi

    It’s my collection of the best Sims writers, if you want to come and hang out with us. 🙂

    But yeah – beautiful pictures and skilled writing. And I really liked it, even if it hit a bit close to home. Although Daniyah is quite a bit older than I was.

    • Aww thanks, glad you liked it 🙂 I will definitely come check it out!

      • I’m glad you’re glad I liked it, lol. 🙂 Oh, just wanted to reinforce that I wasn’t spamming – got a comment on my own blog today that was just someone spamming their link, so that made me all paranoid about coming across that way.

        I really did mean it – I’m careful with who I invite. And it is the best Sims writers. But you’ll see when you check it out. 🙂

  4. fazzione

    I was wondering where can I get that Bag on the first pic

  5. SunsetHills

    Oh wow. All the hushed tones got me thinking that there was an affair going on! (Too much dramas have been entering my head) but really, for Daniyah to hear her Dad’s dead is so sad. The fact he promised to never leave too makes me think there’s a twist going on. I like. 🙂

  6. Qui

    I read this before when there weren’t any pictures so you already know how amazing I thought this was. Your shots were perfect and very beautiful! Keep there chaspters coming!

  7. oh wow this is wonderful! amazing writing, every detail perfect down to the ‘house shoes’ (you have to be from the South!).

    Daniyah’s reaction to her father’s death, that feeling of being abandoned, is so real. I just want to hug her!

    I’m so glad I found this!

    • I’m actually not from the south! I have visited there before, so I guess I got that influence from then. I get a lot of slang from a lot of places for some reason, lol.

      I’m happy you were able to get that emotion from the piece, and trust me, Daniyah could definitely use a hug with what’s about to happen.

      Thank you very much for reading 🙂 I’m glad you liked it!

  8. goodbye_sun

    I’m a little behind getting to this, but I’m glad to see that you got it posted! This was a great start, and I love how it starts out very quiet and secretive before we got the big blow of Daniyah’s fathers death. And with all the phone calls, I suspect there is much more going on that she has any idea about just yet.

  9. What a wonderful start, you’ve really pulled me right in. There’s nothing like losing someone you love and you described Daniyah’s reaction perfectly in words and shots. I can’t wait for more 🙂

  10. Oh wow. That is such a wonderfully sad opening.

  11. OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOH! I like and am sad about. 😦 Will be awaiting the next chapter patie…impatiently. 😉

  12. Excited about Chapter 2! When…when???

  13. Wow, I’m so glad I clicked on your name on Qui’s blog and it led me here. Amazing writing and stunning, gorgeous shots. That final shot is a masterpiece. What a rude awakening for Danayi. I can’t imagine waking up to that kind of news. I’m glad she had someone with her to help her deal with the shock and pain. The mention of her sister has piqued my curiosity, especially since she sounds like a handful. I can’t wait for chapter two.

  14. Sorry, I mispelt her name…I meant Daniyah

  15. This was a great start, beautifully written and a gut-wrenching emotional hook. Can’t wait for more!

  16. Just … wow … emotive, exquisite, gut-wrenching; delivered with both class and empathy. Sorry for the short comment, off to chapter two immediately.

  17. Oh my. Very nice,and I like. You can realy get some feeling into it.

Leave a comment